TROG Cancer Research
Members Login   CQMS Login  

Board of Directors

Effective 16th March 2016 the current Board of Directors is: 

President: A/Prof Farshad Foroudi
Scientific Committee Chair: Professor David Christie
Full Member Director: Dr Purnima Sundaresan 
Full Member Director: Dr Fiona Hegi-Johnson
Full Member Director (New Zealand): Dr Giuseppe Sasso
Independent Director: Dr Tim Kuypers PhD
Independent Consumer Representative Director: Mr  John Cleary

TROG's Company Secretary is Andrew Jenkins. Please direct any corporate governance enquiries to Andrew by emailing or phoning +61 2 4014 3909.

Please direct any TROG Scientific Committee enquiries to Joan Torony: email or phone +61 2 4014 3913.

Meet some of our board members

Associate Professor Farshad Foroudi, Olivia Newton-John Cancer & Wellness Centre, Austin Health

Farshad is the TROG President and a consultant radiation oncologist at the Olivia Newton-John Cancer & Wellness Centre, Austin Health, Melbourne. He has a full-time clinical practice specialising in radiation treatment of predominantly prostate and bladder cancers. Continue reading...

Professor David Christie, Genesis CancerCare Queensland

David is the Chair of the TROG Scientific Committee and a Radiation Oncologist at Genesis CancerCare, QLD. David has experience in treating all cancers that require radiotherapy but has a special interest in urological cancer and lymphoma, including brachytherapy for prostate cancer. Continue reading...

Dr Fiona Hegi-Johnson, Peter MacMacCallum Cancer Centre

Fiona is a Radiation Oncologist at the Peter MacCalllum Cancer Centre in Victoria and Conjoint Senior Lecturer at the University of Newcastle. Clinically, she specializes in the treatment of patients with lung, breast and head and neck cancer. Fiona is also Chair of the TROG Lung Subspecialty group. Continue reading...


Dr Giuseppe Sasso, Auckland Hospital

Giuseppe (Peppe) is currently the Clinical Director of the Radiation Oncology Department at the Northern Regional Cancer and Blood Services, Auckland City Hospital and Auckland District Health Board (ADHB). His clinical focus is on prostate and breast cancer and he also has a special interest in the use of ablative radiotherapy for early metastatic cancers.

Dr Tim Kuypers, Independent Director

Tim works for Asciano, which owns Australia’s largest national above rail freight operator. As General Manager of Regulation, he interacts with economic regulators and negotiates access to rail tracks. Tim contributes his vast understanding of regulation to the TROG Board. Continue reading...

Mr John Cleary, Independent Consumer Representative Director

John is the CEO of an aged care facility and has more than 20 years' experience at a senior management and executive level in both the not-for-profit and for-profit sectors.


TROG Constitution

TROG Constitution


For the 1 in 2 Australians diagnosed with cancer, every day counts.